Sandbox capabilities

Iā€™m a complete newbie to The Sandbox Game. Before I download it, I just need to know if it fulfils my needs. Letā€™s see here:

1. What is the type of scripting system used in it?
  2. Sure, it has its own model making stuff, but can I import my own models? Because Iā€™ve spent a LONG time in making a bunch of models in blender for my game.
  3. Does it use the scene system like in GDevelop and Unity and stuff?
  4. I can export my game anywhere right?
  5. Does it have something relating to tweens in GDevelop? Since I just got out of GDevelop recently.
  6. It uses behaviours and has a 3D editor?
  7. Based on what I saw, I suppose it is primarily built for 3d stuff.
  8. Since I plan on making a good olā€™ hack ā€˜nā€™ slash kind of game, this is good for that, right?
  9. Can this game use good acrobatics like wall running and climbing and stuff?
  10. Can I use tints and special effects along with particle emitters and stuff?

Out of these, number 2 is the most important. Can I please get information on this quick? Thanks!

1 Like

Thatā€™s a lot of questions. It might be best for you to spend some time experimenting with The Sandbox Game Maker yourself to get a feel for it. Good to search up some of the games that already created to see what the platform can do in general. And donā€™t forget to read the Official The Sandbox Documentation.

But hereā€™s some quick one for you, my reply is based solely on what I know as a creator:

1. What is the type of scripting system used in it?
For scene objects, the logic primarily involves combination of Behaviors and Components assigned to objects. Quick example, you can

For the ā€˜backendā€™, thereā€™s a Game rules section where you can send and receive messages from scene objects, control messages, manipulate variables, perform simple math operations, and display HUD elements.
There are also some tabs to setup quick quests, camera settings, configure player control and more.